Manicure Monday: Lilac and Lace

HI all! Today’s manicure features a beautiful lilac shimmer paired with steel and silver lace accent nails.

2014-09-22 18.16.22_edited

First, I put on three coats of Julep Elisa, which is a beautiful lilac with a fine shimmer.  The shimmer is almost imperceptible, and really just gives the solid color a shine boost.  I went with this color, which was oh-so-chic this past spring, because I wanted to celebrate the last few days of nice mild I-don’t-need-a-coat weather.

To give my manicure some extra personality (and because I was too lazy to do any nail art!) I used OPI’s Trend Tips in a steel and silver lace design on the ring finger.  Trend Tips are “real lacquer strips” which you peel and stick onto your nail, which allows you to have all sorts of patterns and effects that wouldn’t be possible in a home manicure.  Each set comes with several sizes which you can also cut and file to shape.  I keep my nails fairly long, but I find that one strip usually ends up covering two nails!  Plus, they’re really easy to put on when fresh, and last a long long time.  However, I like to keep mine for a while (you’re supposed to use them all when you open it!) to use as accent nails.  They tend to get dry and stiffen up after time, but a manicurist showed me a cool trick – just heat them gently and the strip will soften and the adhesive melts to stick nicely on your nails.

BOTTOM: Julep Oxygen Smoothing Base Coat

COLOR: Julep Elisa (lilac), OPI Trend Tips (sorry, it doesn’t have a color name!)

TOP: Julep Oxygen Performance Top Coat

Only for the month of September, sign up for Julep Maven and get a Limited Edition Fall Neutrals 4-Piece Welcome Box! That’s two times the size of the normal welcome box!

If you’re already a Julep Maven, use code FABFALL to get gift set free with $25+ purchase.

Leave a Reply

